Next Meeting September 9th 11:30 a.m. National Golf Club

A Message From Our President

Welcome to the Moore County Republican Women's Club, the largest Republican Women's Club in North Carolina! We are growing each year and encourage your participation in our events. Membership is open to all registered Republicans in Moore County.

We hope you will take the time to learn more about our club and look forward to the chance at seeing you soon at one of our luncheons.


Joan Thurman

2002 Luncheon Schedule

  • September 9
  • October 7
  • November 4
  • December 7 (to be held at the Covington House)

2003 Luncheon Schedule

  • January 6
  • February 3
  • March 3
  • April 7
  • May 5
  • September 8
  • October 6
  • November 3
  • December TBA

Luncheon Reservations are required and can be obtain by calling Shirley Paquette at (910) 295-0748. Cost is $13.00 per person. Reservations must be made five (5) days prior to the scheduled meeting. Cancellations are also required five days prior. We hope you can make it and look forward to seeing you!


Moore Republican Women Club History

The Moore County Republican Women's Club (MRW), seed was planted at the North Carolina State Convention in Greensboro in May, 1980. The North Carolina Federation of Republican Women, President and Board members pledged their support.

Two planning sessions were held at the Sheraton Inn during the summer of 1980. The invitation was extended to all Republican Women to attend the organizational meeting. On September 3, 1980, over 100 Republican women signed in as charter members. All others enrolling in the Republican Party prior to the presentation of the charter would also become charter members.

On February 6, 1981, the Moore Republican Women's Club was issued a charter in the National Federation of Republican Women. On March 23, 1981, the charter was presented to the Executive Board with 134 charter members officially affiliated with the North Carolina Federation of Republican Women.

Anne Frye was the first charter President with Ann Thompson as Treasurer. Both members remain active in the club today. Mrs. Frye still serves as an advisor to the Moore County Republican Women.

At the 1981 NCFRW convention in Fayetteville, MRW received an award for having enrolled the most new members for the year. This award was again earned by the Club in 1984, 1987, and 1988. At that time, the Club was the third largest in North Carolina.

In the years 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, and 2000, MRW was the second largest Republican Women's Club in North Carolina. This past year, MRW was the largest in North Carolina. All this in a county of only 75,000 people.

Back to Top

Luncheons Held at National Golf Club on Midland Road in Pinehurst at 12:00 p.m. noon. Cost $13

2002 Meeting Schedule

2003 Meeting Schedule

Moore Republican Women Club History

Executive Board

(click on name to email)

  • President, Joan Thurman
  • Vice President, Cindy Morgan
  • Recording Sec., Pud Kent
  • Corresponding Sec., Adele Prill
  • Treasurer, Diane Robinson


  • Americanism, Mary Williams
  • By-Laws, Martha Jack
  • Chaplain, Mary Wittpenn
  • Historian, Lois Hillier
  • Legislative, Bonnie Dougherty
  • Luncheon, Shirley Paquette
  • Membership, Sharon Buchanan
  • Parliamentarian, Elizabeth Kelly
  • Publicity, Wonza Davis
  • Ways & Means, Laorraine Blackwell and Liz Vernon




Paid for by the Moore County Republican Party

Designed by Matt McWilliams (c 2002)

Comments: email Matt at


Joan Thurman, President